What is the expected default behavior when encountering an obstacle in the road during autopilot?

Hello Everyone!

Can someone please describe the expected default behavior when encountering an obstacle in the road (like a rock, tree, branch) when on autopilot? I’ve created a map and purposely placed obstacles in the road.

I believe I’m seeing the detection of an obstacle, and then the inability of the vehicle to navigate around or through it. It appears to get stuck. Is this the expected behavior, on autopilot?

Is there a way to temporarily turn off sensing of obstacles in the road, and allow the vehicle to “pass through” an obstacle?

Is autopilot navigation capable of changing lanes to avoid an obstacle?

Is there a way to manually drive (not fly) along a road?

Thanks for your thoughts on this! I am new in this space…

Hey @marybp, let’s split your doubts in parts.

Can someone please describe the expected default behavior when encountering an obstacle in the road (like a rock, tree, branch) when on autopilot?

The autopilot doesn’t detect anything other than vehicles, as all other objects (trees, garbage, rocks…) aren’t meant to be at the road.

Is there a way to temporarily turn off sensing of obstacles in the road, and allow the vehicle to “pass through” an obstacle?

Kinda, you can use the TM’s hybrid mode, which disables physics of vehicle that are far away from the ego vehicle, but that isn’t its expected use, so there might be some issues
traffic_manager.set_hybrid_physics_mode(True / False) activates / deactivates it

Is autopilot navigation capable of changing lanes to avoid an obstacle?

It is capable of doing so if there the obstacle in front is another vehicle but it is impossible for any other obstacles as again, they aren’t detected. However, the autopilot it will never enter a lane that goes in the opposite direction

Is there a way to manually drive (not fly) along a road?

What do you mean here?